Admin

Mathematics at GCPS

It is our goal to teach the math curriculum in a fun and creative manner that encourages active engagement with multiple opportunities for hands-on learning. The classroom should be a safe learning space where the students feel comfortable asking questions, making mistakes, exploring concepts, and interacting positively with each other. The intermediate years can be challenging and students will need to become more independent and take more responsibility than in previous grades. To ensure success both this year and beyond, students need to:

  • Be prepared to participate actively in classroom discussion and practice
  • Complete in-class work on a regular basis
  • Follow instructions independently and with care
  • Ask for assistance when information or expectations are unclear
  • Have fun!

Students will be assessed and evaluated by completing tests, quizzes, projects, daily discussions, and ongoing classroom tasks. Please check back this section of the Glen Cairn Website to review what’s happening in class, look for extra practice, and find helpful resources.  Additional at-home practice can be easily found on-line.

If you have questions, concerns, or personal information that you feel is important for us to know, please contact us at anytime.  Looking forward to a fun and successful year in math!


Sincerely,

The Math Team


Clark Day – clark.day@ocdsb.ca

Kerri Hillier – kerri.hillier@ocdsb.ca

John Saschenbrecker - john.saschenbrecker@ocdsb.ca

Trevor Powers - trevor.powers@ocdsb.ca

Carl Fraser - carl.fraser@ocdsb.ca

Angela Burns - angela.burns@ocdsb.ca

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.